Book Reviews / Personal

Review: THE NIGHT CIRCUS, by Erin


9,876 stars out of 5

the night circusI don’t know Erin Morgenstern, but I want to be her friend, and she is welcome to come stay at my house, anytime. I’ll make her freshly brewed tea and pistachio cake (I make outstanding, out of this world, pistachio cake), and sit and stare at the genius that she is.

No matter how much I try to describe the plot of this book to friends and family, I cannot find the right words. All you have to know is that it is a beautiful story complete with luxurious garments, and longing, and illusionists, and pain, and  chocolate mice, and strange but glorious black and white circus, and plum feathers, and intricate clocks, and  red-haired twins who train marmalade kittens. It is a lovers’ tale. Start to finish, it is a celebration of the senses, theatrical and lyrical, and stunning.

I don’t think I’ve ever read a book more perfectly imaginative and magnificent. Every chapter is a work of art. It is now my most favorite, absolute top of the list. This is one of those rare instances where I have borrowed a book from the library, but fell in love with it enough to buy. If there is a special edition – I want it. When the movie comes out – I’ll watch it.

If you haven’t read it yet, you must.

Leave a Reply

