Book Reviews

Review: THIRTEEN REASONS WHY, by Jay Asher


Image

4 out of 5 stars

A high school student commits suicide, but she sends out tapes to the people who affected her decision, giving 13 reasons that led up to it. The great premise, and the voice is beautiful and authentic.  I couldn’t finish it fast enough. How one, seemingly invisible event can lead to another, and another, until the entire life is spinning out of control and it’s almost impossible to pick up the pieces.

I appreciate how true, how “high school” this book is. Sad and tragic, and unnecessary. How many suicides are just like that? How often our fears prevent us from reaching out, from helping someone? I am not exactly certain I fully understand #13. Well, I understand the obvious part of it, but it seemed a bit unfair to #13.

I did love the final touch, and the reminder that while we cannot change the past, we can always change what we do with our present.

2 thoughts on “Review: THIRTEEN REASONS WHY, by Jay Asher

  1. Thanks for this! Mary Kole mentions this book in her “Writing Irresistible KidLit”, so I was debating picking it up… Good to hear that it’s worth the read!

    • I’m glad you found it helpful. In return, I have to mention that I want to read Writing Irresistible KidLit. I heard much about it, and keep forgetting to add it to my Goodreads “to read” list. I’ll go do that right now, before I forget again!

Leave a Reply

