Book Reviews

Review: ENDER’S GAME, by Orson Scott Card


Image4 out of 5 stars

This book was not what I expected. I anticipated a light-hearted MG read, somewhat along the lines of Harry Potter in Space, instead, I ended up with a brilliant, but rather heavy-loaded philosophical SciFi novel, with just enough blood and gore to test my stomach’s strength at some points. I admired Orson’s skilled writing, and particularly appreciated the way he described siblings’ relationships and slang. I’ve grown to love Ender and hate Peter.

I did not connect well with the conclusion that went beyond Ender’s childhood years, but the twists and turns, and the challenges that little boy faced and his inner dialogue drew me right in, and kept me turning pages until… Well… Read it for yourself. It is worth it.

Leave a Reply

